[Cite This]

Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan
Richard Russell Riordan Jr. better known as Rick Riordan is The New York Times bestselling American author of the Percy Jackson and Olympians series. Born on June 5, 1964, Rick Riordan grew up in Texas. He attended the Alamo Heights High School, graduating in 1982. For higher education Rick enrolled at the University of Texas in Austin double majoring in English and history. After graduation from the university in 1986, Rick Riordan chose teaching for a career. For 15 years Rick taught English, history and Greek mythology at various middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in San Antonio. In 2002, he was presented the St. Mary’s Hall’s first Master Teacher Award for his exceptional teaching services.

Rick began to enjoy writing from an early age. He made many unsuccessful attempts of publishing his short stories in teenage years. At school, Rick was appointed the editor of the high school newspaper. It was not until graduation from college and teaching in San Francisco that Riordan took writing seriously.

Riordan’s son, Haley who was diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia held a keen interest in a subject his father taught, Greek mythology. Then in the second grade, Haley would often request upon Rick to tell him stories inspired by Greek mythologies. In order to fulfill his son’s request, Riordan quickly invented the character of Percy Jackson, a twelve year boy who suddenly discovers he is the son of a Greek God. Riordan began a creatively crafted imaginative tale of Percy’s expedition to bring back Zeus’s lightning bolt in present day America. After Rick finished telling the story in three nights, Haley requested him to write down the story as a book. Not wanting to disappoint his son, Riordan took out time to write down the story. To show his respect and care for dyslexic children, Riordan attributed some characteristics of this disease to Percy. Thus, Riordan’s world famous Percy Jackson series came into being.

While living in California was enjoyable and comfortable for his wife and kids, Riordan yearned for Texas. His nostalgic feelings for Texas led him to write a mystery novel set in San Antonio, his hometown. The novel entitled Big Red Tequila featured the central character of Tres Nvarre, a private eye Ph.D in English. The novel received enthusiastic reviews and won Riordan the three most prestigious awards in the mystery genre. Riordan was presented the Edgar, Anthony and Shamus awards for Big Red Tequila. Riordan has to his credit a number of other awards as well. Some of these include Mark Twain Award for The Lightning Thief (2008), Mark Twain Award for The Sea of Monsters (2009), Rebecca Caudill Award for The Lightning Thief (2009), School Library Journal’s Best Book for The Red Pyramid (2010), Children’s Choice Book Awards: Author of the Year (2011) and the Children’s Choice Book Awards: Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year for The Red Pyramid (2011).

Riordan is author to five series which include Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus, The 39 Clues Series, Tres Navarre Series and The Kane Chronicles. He is also written a standalone novel entitled Cold Springs which was published in 2004. Rick Riordan currently resides in San Antonio with his wife and their two sons.

Buy Books by Rick Riordan

Write About Rick Riordan